Tags

, , , , ,

Why are there so many songs about rainbows?

It’s not easy being green.

Movin’ right along!

It’s time to play the music. It’s time to light the lights.

It’s time to get things started …

On the most sensational, inspirational, celebrational, Muppetational … this is what we call The Muppet Show!

So many memories. So many laughs. I grew up watching The Muppet Show. So today when yet another Muppet movie is released … I want to honor their special magic.

Even if you don’t know The Muppets, you know them. Everyone has their favorite. I’ve always been partial to Gonzo and Animal … and Beaker. The songs. The comedy. The life lessons.

Believe in yourself.

Dream.

Everyone has a place in the world.

Jim Henson’s dream came true. He shared his brilliance with the world and it was embraced.

I remember when he died, when the world lost a shining star. I cry thinking about all he didn’t get to do. However, look at what he added to our lives. He gave us The Muppets. He made us laugh. He taught us that even if we’re a karate-chopping pig who refers to herself as ‘moi’, a frog who plays the banjo and sings, or a strange blue whatever that talks to chickens, we all have something to give the world. Ourselves.

And his creative genius continues.

When the last movie ‘The Muppets’ entered the theaters, I was excited, but nervous. Would they still be my Muppets?

I left the theater, wiping the tears of joy from my face. All the magic was there as my favorite frog, pig, bear, whatever, and all their friends assembled on the screen. The Muppets never left the hearts of all those who love them.

Have you heard about the new show on the Sy-Fy channel? Jim’s Henson Creature Shop Challenge starts Tuesday the 25th! One of my crazy-dreamity-dream land dreams is to be a creature creator for the movies. Of course, I traveled a different path, so not likely, but that job would ROCK! With computer graphics such a huge part of movies now, this show comes out celebrating the great art of creature creation. Wow!

Thank you, Jim Henson! For being you, for sharing your magic, for believing in your dream. Look what you’ve done, so far.

And now another movie that I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE! A TV show I will watch with interest and dream of being on.

Come on! Get in your rainbow-colored Studebaker and take a left at the fork in the road. *Muppet flail*

Who’s with me?

