Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Soooo … every once in a while, I’ll go see a movie or read a book because EVERYONE ELSE DID AND THEY CAN’T STOP TALKING ABOUT IT!

Sometimes this backfires *cough*Twilight*cough* … other times it leads me down a path I never would have traveled. A marvelous path.

John Green’s ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ followed me home from the store one day because everyone was loving it. And I had to see what all the fuss was about. Now, let’s be honest. This is not the type of book I would choose. There is no magic, no ghosts, no demons, no fairies … no paranormal creepy, horror strangeness. And I like dark evil wrapped up in words.

And there is cancer. Since my sister’s battle with breast cancer two years ago that word causes fear and tears.

But, I had to see!

I finished the book. Today.

And wow. Just wow. I gave it a short, simple five star review, which is odd for me. I reserve those five stars for books that leave me changed, that wind through my soul and dig their emotions into my being, that give me a different view of the world.

What is that meaningful wisdom I scooped up? I suppose everyone takes something different from books. It’s art, that’s the way it should be.

Like most people, I am afraid of death. I do believe in that ‘capitol S-Something’. There is more to the universe than our limited existence. But what waits for us after we die? I don’t know and that unknown is what makes me shudder. Hazel showed me that maybe it’s not about fearing what happens to us when we die, but what happens to those we love. Will they go on and be the best possible them? Will they carry the memory of us as they live their lives to the fullest? They better.

And dear Augustus offered his view of life. We can’t make choices based in fear only in love. Never be afraid to love something because it will fade, because you might lose it. Love is never lost and it never fades.

Live your life knowing fear is not real, but love is forever.

“I do, Augustus. I do.” ~ Hazel in ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green

I love it when I find a book like this. I have found a few. And thanks to the masses, ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ is among them. I climbed out of my rut and read something different. Holy wow, maybe I’m not a hermit. Well … maybe.

Any books out there that touched you? If you’ve read TFIOS, what did you take from its pages?

 

