Tags

,

The wonderful Mary Lou Rigdon has invited me to join this world blog tour. I met Mary Lou when I joined the Summit City Scribes writers’ group a couple of years ago. Her fabulous advice has helped my writing improve and listening to her read is always great! Seriously, folks, this woman can WRITE. Look for her books on Amazon, so many different genres and categories… it will blow your mind. I personally LOVE her YA fantasy http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=M.L.Rigdon

Her website has all the details http://mlrigdon.com/.

Follow her on Twitter https://twitter.com/RigdonML .

Go visit her blog, http://historyfanforever.wordpress.com/  read her post and wave! She’s even newer to blogging than I am! *gasp* I know.

I want to share the terrifying, twisted, awe-inspiring tale of how I came to be a writer. Okay, it’s really pretty normal and boring.

As a kid, I made up stuff. I have notebooks full of drawings of beings, creatures, and worlds. I wrote paragraphs describing everything from what a character looked like, to who they were, to how they lived. My fantastic creatures and worlds kept me entertained for hours. In my head, everything was real and had a story. I decided I wanted to be an illustrator, to give the power of words an added kick with color and lines. It never crossed my mind to be a writer, I could never be a part of that elite group. No way. So I went to school and received my degree in art. Yea!

But, it didn’t seem to be my passion. Painting was fun, but it didn’t drive me forward.
I’ll never forget the day I was standing at the kitchen sink, cleaning something (I do that a lot), thinking about the same story that had been circling my head for years, when the answer hit. I had currently been involved in reading Harry Potter and it occurred to me that writing for kids, for teens would be fun, more than that… it would be PERFECT! In that moment, the characters I had struggled with took form and began talking. The story floating about my brain became real. That story still sits in my computer and on discs and on a flash drive. I write three out of what will be a series of four books. Someday, I will go back to them, and discover how awful my writing was when I first set off down that path, but I will go back, because I love that story.

What am I currently working on?

I am tackling the final revision of my YA fantasy DOORS, born of a simple idea… what if you could go anywhere in the universe, what if there was a door. Well, I had a few readers offer to critique it. FABULOUS PEOPLE! I love comments. I love letting them sink into my brain so it can come up with what I want to change. But I am procrastinating diving into the words. What if I fail? What if I just can’t make it better? Stop me if I go for the flame thrower… please.
I am also working on edits for my two stories that were chosen to be published in the Reuts anthology of twisted fairy tales.
I will also be writing a short story for Pen and Muse blog, who are calling for shorts featuring a haunted house. If that appeals to you, go sign up to participate. Should be FUN!

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Sit ten authors down, give them the same idea, and BLAMO… ten different stories. I like to think my words create music, their own special tune. I like to think my odd view of the world helps me stand out, but who really knows.

Why do I write what I write?

I read fantasy, horror, anything weird. I watch the same thing on TV or at the movies. My brain is wired to hold onto the strange and paranormal, the magical and fantastical. That would be me. Since that’s what interests me, since that what sticks in my head, that’s what I write. The stories and characters come from a place in my heart. I write to change someone’s perspective. I write to add my bit of weird to the world.

How does my writing process work?

I wouldn’t go right for the word process. My notebooks full of notes, of character sketches, of plot points and every idea EVER are a mess. My ideas become snowballs on a white snow-covered hills. Sometimes, the ball rolls down the hill, constantly growing as the story is revealed to me. Yes, revealed. The story exists, I wait for it to step out of the shadows.
Then I write it without dwelling on all the grammar problems and terrible word choices. I need the story written then all can be fixed in revisions.
I LOVE CPs! I LOVE comments!
Relaxing, taking a moment to do nothing will unlock all the answers. The more we try to pry open the box holding the answers, the more locks appear. So no worries, the answers will come when they will.

Because I did a writing process tour last week, I am going to direct your attention to a few writers’ blogs that I love, some of whom have shared their writing process.

Kris Holt is witty wrapped up in awesome. Go say hi.

http://4thousandwords.blogspot.com/

Jamie Adams makes me smile.

http://jamieadamswriting.wordpress.com/

Judith Post offers great insight into writing and being a writer.

http://writingmusings.com/2014/08/03/writing-you-have-to-find-what-works-for-you/

Julie Artz is a new to this touring thing, so give her a round of applause.

http://www.terminalverbosity.com/

Aaaaaand… I’m out!

