Tags

, , , ,

For those of you who do not know the marvelousness that is the sci-fi show Dr. Who, this post might not mean much to you (that’s okay, I still love you). For all you Whovians out there, get up and celebrate with me! You know why!

 giphy

Tonight! The season premiere!

giphy

Not just any new show, but a new Doctor! Scary and exciting, I have seen many Doctors come and go, some I’ve loved, others I liked, and a couple I didn’t really connect with.

Late one night in the fall of 1989, when I was a junior in high school, I came home from being at a football game with friends (yes, I had a few). Needing time to unwind from the stress of being social, I went downstairs to watch TV and found my dad draped comfortably on the couch, a TV show I didn’t recognize flickering in the background. So I sat. My dad has good taste in TV and movie, so if he watched it, I did too, believe me I discovered many shows I loved doing that.

I started watching these strange people, until finally I couldn’t take it.

“What is this?” I asked.

“Dr. Who,” Dad replied.

“Dr. Who?” I asked. I know! The whole I said that fact is terribly cool.

Then he went on to explain about Time Lords and traveling through time and space in the TARDIS, he shared his knowledge of regenerations and The Master and Daleks… AND ALL THE WONDERFUL THINGS.

And every weekend after that I perched myself on the couch to watch Dr. Who with my dad.

I have seen every show from the Third Doctor on and a couple from the first and second regeneration. Let’s remember, shall we?

giphy

The First Doctor started it all in 1963. William Hartnell played the role until 1966. He traveled to the time of the dinosaurs, the wild west, and faced the Daleks.

giphy

Patrick Troughton played the Second Doctor from 1966-1969 and brought a bit of craziness and a recorder. We met the Daleks again and discovered an army of Cybermen.

giphy

Jon Pertwee Took over in 1970-1974 as the Third Doctor, who the Time Lords punished by trapping him on Earth. Still plenty of adventures, I missed the TARDIS. However, one of my favorite companions Sarah Jane Smith joined the fun.

200

My very favorite Doctor, the fourth regeneration, Tom Baker took us back out into time and space from 1974-1981. With a pocket full of jelly babies, a really long scarf, and a strange wit, he took us to deal with Daleks, Cybermen, and Zygots.

giphy

Peter Davison entered as the Fifth from 1982-1984 as a nicer version. His celery pinned to his lapel, he and his TARDIS packed full of companions (SO many!) traveled time and space fighting the good fight.

giphy

The Sixth Doctor, Colin Baker, took over from 1984-1986. Not my favorite one, he was a bit of gloom and faced the Time Lords when they put him on trial.

giphy

You might know the Seventh Doctor, Sylvester McCoy, from The Hobbit as Radagast the Brown. From 1987-1996 with his umbrella and explosion-loving companion Ace, he once again faced the Daleks and some super creepy clowns. Now the shows disappeared somewhere in there. I remember them ending. Dad and I panicked. And for a while I thought Dr. Who would never return. Until…

giphy

Fox made a TV movie in 1996 where we see the Seventh regenerate into the Eighth, played by Paul McGann, who brought humanity to the role, letting him love. The whole feelings thing totally caught me off guard, but it paved the way for later regenerations.

Of course after the movie, I once again felt a pang of sadness. Had they brought it back for one movie and that’s it?

Nope.

giphy

Christopher Eccleston took over the role when the Sy-fy channel (THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!) brought the show back in 2005. For only one glorious season everything was fantastic! Then we said good-bye (too early) to the Ninth Doctor.

giphy

David Tennant ruled as the Tenth Doctor from 2005-2009. Allons-y took over the TARDIS as he brought so many emotions to the role and serious awesome shoes.

giphy

Finally that brings us to the Eleventh Doctor Matt Smith, 2010-2014, who brought a bit of the craziness of the Fourth Doctor back as well as a bow tie, which is cool. Hello, sweetie.

giphy

Now we settle in to get to know a new Doctor Peter Capaldi. What will he bring to the role? Who will travel with him?

LET’S GO!

giphy

