Tags

, , , ,

Since today’s assignment is October poem… I guess we’ll change things up.

I am not a poet. The last poem I wrote was in fourth grade when we studied haikus. I probably wrote some drivel about a rainbow. Bleh!

The Midnight Society held a poetry contest, is holding the deadline to enter is the 26th. After some prodding by those marvelous writers there *cough*AmyGiuffrida*cough* (@kissed by ink), I entered. What is it with me and contests? (I might need an intervention.) A winner will be announced on Halloween, but since a poem is the challenge of the day, I thought I’d post it. If this breaks any rules, I don’t know (but it isn’t going to be pubbed anywhere, soooo) They can disqualify me if they must. *sad face*

Keep in mind, this is the first poem I have written… *holds breath*

 

In Shadow

In dark corners,

Shadows shift, watching.

Reaching,

Stretching with claw-like fingers.

Forever lurking.

Forever whispering.

Not only blackness, but form.

Not only shadows, but demons.

Nightmares creep in the dark,

Invading,

Stealing sanity,

Creating,

Fear.

 

There is my October poem… a bit of Halloween terror lurking in the shadows. *shrug*

Until tomorrow, my frightful friends.

 

