Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ll wave goodbye to October, but what a month. Contests, stories, scary fun. I let go of worries and fears and let myself be. I wrote a ton of little stories, which lead my writing into new places, places I’m hoping to explore further.

Horror manuscript? Possibly. But first there’s a story competition I must complete.

Some of my writer friends are participating in NaNoWriMo… National Novel Writing Month, where they will attempt to write 50,000 words this month. Good luck to all of you! I think you’re all crazy. I have never been tempted by that beast, never thought to join the insanity.

There’s another group forming called… WIPmo, for all those who have manuscripts and want to revise the living crud out of them. Good luck to them too! I don’t have a ms that is screaming to be revised. I just climbed out of that hole with DOORS. I don’t wanna go back in!

A different game has me enthralled. Last year I stumbled upon Reuts Publishers and their take on NaNo called ProjectREUTSWay, see details here. Each week in November they offered a challenge. By adding vampires, shapeshifters, demons, ghost, etc., write a 2,000-5,000 word story inspired by a fairy tale. So I did. I submitted four stories. Two of them won spots in their recently published anthology, see my previous post here. And one was posted on their blog as a runner-up. I am thrilled to have a book in my Nook with my stories sitting alongside so many other great pieces!Honestly, I don’t feel like I deserve to be there, but there I am.

This month the theme is mythology, not something I know a ton about. First up is Egyptian… I’m going with part of Ra’s story. I will start writing the words today and see how it goes. I am in fabulous company as many of us from last year have bonded together to cheer each other on. I love them! I love that they include me. The little girl inside me who never had any friends wants to cry happy tears.

This month, I will write four stories. I will help critique a friend’s manuscript. I will have a big decision to make, maybe… or at least something to announce, possibly. I will head to my sister’s house for Thanksgiving and spend time with my family. I will do my best not to panic or let my fear of failure send me spinning off into darkness. But if I do, I have friends to help me. You know who you are!

Mostly I hope to be content, to be willing to go where fate takes me and let go of all the things I can’t control.

May we all find a happy place. May we all conquer the new challenges, whether they be word related or not, and face the obstacles with as little self doubt as possible. However, when that demon rears its head, remember…

YOU ARE NOT ALONE. Reach out to all of us, suffering from the same fears and doubts.

Together we can do anything.

 

