Tags

, ,

I have a confession.

This might shock a few of you, so have a seat. *beckons you closer to the screen*

*whispers* I love Christmas movies.

The Hallmark Channel and Lifetime become my best friends this time of year.

I know! After all my creepy Halloween posts and horrific stories, you might need a moment to process the fact that I am a big softie, girlie, cry-baby.

I have already begun recording movies. I set the DVR to catch all my favorites in the middle of the night when my addiction won’t interrupt anyone else’s TV viewing pleasure. In previous years, this teary-eyes, glued to the sappiest shows EVER event began after Thanksgiving. Last year, Hallmark channel wisened up and began before Thanksgiving because… SO MANY MOVIES TO PLAY. This year they began around Halloween.

Just to save my skin I will say that I DID NOT watch any movies until AFTER Halloween. I’m not a heartless troll.

Each year they replay the favorites and create new ones. My mom and I text and call each other a lot this time of year to compare what movies we saw that we loved, which ones we ignored (really, there are so many, if we watched them all we’d lose our sanity), and give opinions on the new movies. THIS IS A SERIOUS TOPIC PEOPLE. We give TIME to this.

There are some titles that I pass on, I do feel guilty, but in the end it’s my life. I saw them and they didn’t do much for me. There are shows that I thought were cute and will have on in the background, so I can glance at them now and then for a smile. Then there are the movies that rate four stars that I watch.

Then there are… *takes deep breath* … the FIVE STAR movies, the ones I CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT! The stories that make Christmas CHRISTMAS.

A Season for Miracles. The Santa Suit. November Christmas. Holiday Inn. The Most Wonderful Time of the Year. The Christmas Ornament. When Angels Come to Town. White Christmas. A Christmas Carol. Christmas with Holly.

THERE ARE SO MANY!

My kids and hubs know of my problem. So many times, they have walked into the room to witness my waterworks and shake their heads in shame.

Yet I am not ashamed. I am human. And a girl. And I LIKE STORIES THAT MAKE ME FEEL GOOD, THAT MAKE ME SEE THE WORLD AS A BEAUTIFUL PLACE!

Embrace the feelings, everyone. Embrace the stories of Christmas!

And please, I realize that Thanksgiving is yet to happen and understand that I LOVE that holiday too! I do enjoy the Thanksgiving movies too. There are just A LOT less of those.

So unite sappy movie lovers! Unite! Tis the season.

