Tags

, , , , ,

Writers write. And write. And write.

But we don’t do this for the heck of it. We have things to say, stories to tell, characters in our brains THAT WON’T STOP TALKING!

Finally we have a complete manuscript. WOO HOO!!!!! Right?

Maybe. But what do we do with it?

Self-publish? Traditional publish? Find an agent? WHAT?

All of the above. It’s as simple as that. Well, one person shouldn’t do all at once for one manuscript. That would be crazy. But choose a path, a path that makes you happy, a path that isn’t too hot or too cold, but just right. And no path is easy.

I know writers with agents. I know authors who self-pub. I know people published through small presses. I know someone who got an agent and then a book deal, someone who self-pubbed then got an agent.

The possibilities are endless!

The one thing to remember is we all write and together we make this business great.

Me? I tried agents, but that never felt right. Self-pubbing is too scary for me, I want someone to help me on the way. So I’m trying small presses. They’re out there. They want your manuscripts. Why not? That path feels good under my feet.

Having an agent? Awesome! A BIG high five to those who catch someone’s heart with your words. It’s great to have someone by your side.

Not having an agent? Fabulous. You got this.

Self-publishing? Wow! You go. I think those who get their books out there themselves are the bravest people. They get it edited. They work with people on the cover. They market. They DO IT ALL! And get all the money.

And here I want to mention a new writer friend, who is bravely setting foot in the land of self-publishing.

E.L. Wicker’s first book will be released on December 21st! I was honored to be included as a CP and can tell you what a fun story it is! Vampires. Witches. Great characters. And magic, people, magic. Now I haven’t seen the polished words, but I can’t wait.

Go see the cover (it’s pretty!) and sign up for the giveaway here.

Self-pubbed, traditional pubbed, agented, unagented… whether you enter contests or just query, we’re all in this together. I will cheer for you as you travel whatever writerly path you choose. I’ll share what I learn from my journey, if you share what you learn on yours. Deal?

GO! GO! GO!

Writers unite.

 

 

