Tags

, , , , , ,

I DID IT!

psychwait

I started a new manuscript. The sequel to DOORS is happening.

muppetmark-ruffalo-dancing

It has been a LOOOOOOONG time since I wrote a full length ms. A looooooooong time. So when I approached this one I had to sneak up on it…

DrWho13hiding

Two days ago, I just started it. Just wrote words without worrying about anything. Then BAM! The dreaded first words are finished. The anxiety I experience when beginning something new vanished in a puff of HA! TAKE THAT!

But I have a long way to go. I can barely see the path stretching out in front of me, let alone see the end. I have notes of scenes, dialogue, character arc, new worlds, new characters, and blah, blah, blah. The final picture wavers in my mind and as I embark on the journey, I have made myself a few promises.

Drwhocrosshearts

I WILL…

MOVE FORWARD EVERYDAY.

LOVE the characters and the journey.

LOOK to my friends for encouragement when self-doubt creeps in. (Because a very fabulous Twitter friend reminded me that I am not alone and have a cheering section… the best one ever!)

FORGIVE myself when the writing doesn’t happen.

NOT WORRY about word counts.

NOTΒ JUDGE every word.

ACKNOWLEDGE that it’s a first draft.

EMBRACE the mistakes.

GET the story out.

LOOK FORWARD to the time when I get to revise.

LAUGH at the awkward transitions.

PUSH away the stress.

HAVE A FABULOUS TIME.

sound-of-music-twirl

Well, maybe not quite like THAT… but close.

We all face challenges, things that make us want to curl up in a ball in a corner.

overwhelmed1

But if we find the joy, WE CAN DO ANYTHING!

I write because I love it. And though I can’t completely promise that there will be no tears, I will find my way back from the edge of madness and fear. We all creep up to the line of giving up and let the light pull us back. In the end, it’s the good in life that keeps us going.

Positivity isΒ easier to carry than fear.

 

