Tags

, , , ,

I am a creature of habit.

My rut is well worn.

I don’t like to leave my happy, well-known places. Dude, it’s scary out there.

BUT…

Life required me to deviate from my master plan of never changing. There wasn’t much of a choice. And I did it with little anxiety… color me shocked!

Psychshawnwhat

And, it was okay, well, actually it might be my new happy place.

In my eleven years of writing, I NEVER let anyone see a first draft. Never. The thought made my eye-balls bleed and my body go into convulsions. No one should see that terrible first draft, the vomit draft… you don’t want to show people the vomit. Truly.

So, I would draft, then revise about three hundred times, THEN let people read it. This has worked for me.

Well, here I am writing a first draft. Slowly. But writing it. And my turn for critique group pops up. But…

Ummm… I don’t have anything.

Haven’t you started that sequel you’ve been world-building and planning?

Yes…

Send us that!

Ooooo…kay. BUT IT’S TERRIBLE AND A FIRST DRAFT AND I NEVER LET PEOPLE SEE THOSE!

Oh, Kathy.

marypoppinsare-you-kidding-me-disappointed-GIF

Anyway, that horrible first draft has now been critiqued by two different groups. And WHY DIDN’T I DO THIS SOONER? All those years I spent revising in my little bubble, digging a deeper and deeper hole stuck in all my thoughts about the manuscript. Then when finally I get feedback, I don’t know what to do, because I am staring at this thing I don’t know how to change.

AHSnunstare

When I get feedback for a book I am in the middle of drafting, I can make notes, and keep writing, using all the light bulb moments that came from comments to make the following chapters better.

HPbrilliantharry-potter

Forget all the terrible sentence structures. Forget the way I repeated a word five hundred times. Forget the passive voice. I can fix that a heck of a lot easier than reworking the plot. Critiques are less painful when I am not so invested in the words. It’s a first draft… WHO CARES!!! Seriously, I was less jittery and sweaty.

So I am a changed person. This ms will be critiqued as a first draft, as I write the thing.

And it will be great.

I think.

Maybe.

