Tags

, , , , ,

If you remember from my last post, I took my kids on a five hour drive Friday to my parents’ house for Halloween.

And that means a five hour drive home yesterday.

Ten hours in a car for a few hours of trick-or-treating? Am I crazy?

Nope. It was all worth it.

HALLOWEEN IS IMPORTANT!

My kids are done trick-or-treating and where we live, trick-or-treaters are non-existent. And I LOVE to be in the middle of Halloween. I love the sounds of kids running amok. I love the sounds of leaves crunching underfoot. I love the chill in the air…and even a little rain is acceptable. So I went where the action was. No one wants a sad Kathy on Halloween.

My mom and dad get A LOT of trick-or-treaters. I believe the final count was about 440 pieces of candy handed out. 440! AH! Yes, they had enough candy. It was a miracle.

But before that…there was much to do! So many decorations and lights that had to be set up, electrical cords run, creepiness to spread!

image

My dad! *waves*

image

The kids all had jobs!

image

Medusa was motion activated and would tell everyone to fear her as her eyes glowed and snake-hair moved.

image

image

Eventually everything was ready. Scary sounds oozed from speakers. The strobe light was flashing. Though at 4:30 in the afternoon the effect was minimal.

My daughter and I did a bit of dressing up…

image

Then we accompanied my sisters and their four girls on their walk up and down the street on their hunt for candy. I love seeing all the decorations and hearing the phrase “trick-or-treat” echoing along the block. I had a few kids stare at me as I wandered the street in my cloak and strange make-up. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

When we returned to my parents’ house, my daughter and I waved to my sisters and nieces as they continued on their candy gathering adventure, then became a part of Halloween, joining Dad’s décor.

Ella took a spot on the front porch.

image

I stood behind the coffin, illuminated by the strobe light. Those innocent trick-or-treaters and their parents (because walking up the sidewalk of Dad’s house often required holding someone’s hand) didn’t always see me right away…didn’t know if I was a real person, until my eyes followed them and my head moved.

I WAS IN HEAVEN. Heaven.

The screaming. The crying. The wide eyes. More than a few turned right around and only returned with back-up. Then they finally made it to the door and were hit with the vision that is my dad as he lures them to him with candy. There is usually much hesitation…and crying…and one kid jump a foot into the air.

image

When an ambulance crawled down the street with the theme song from the movie “Halloween” playing, I nearly died of joy. I tried to look menacing, but I couldn’t help smiling. My daughter said the same thing.

It was the best Halloween ever. And because we can’t go to my parents’ house unless Halloween falls on a Saturday, I won’t get to experience this for a long time…if ever again. So I soaked it all in. Basked in the creepy.

image

image

image

The bride and groom skeletons spun around. A big hit!

image

image

image

I made new friends…

image

image

So next year, you will probably find me curled in a corner throwing candy at myself with horror movies playing because I won’t be in the middle of Halloween. I won’t be enjoying the creepy lights and music. I won’t be hearing kids yell “trick-or-treat”. I won’t be wandering out in the cold fall air.

Without that, I don’t know what Halloween will become for me. I guess it’s time to find new traditions. It’s time for Halloween to evolve. But I will treasure my moments out in the middle of the action. I will miss it.

I hope everyone had a great Halloween!

 

