Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So Christmas. It has come and gone once again, leaving my mind filled with happy memories.

Like my whole family being together.

Some of us...

Some of us…

Christmas morning!

Christmas morning!

 

Like my dad’s bestest Christmas outfit EVER.

Be jealous. Those slippers jingle with awesome.

Be jealous. Those slippers jingle with awesome.

Like my new Dr. Who Legos.

THE TARDIS!

THE TARDIS!

The console room with 11th and 12th Doctors and Clara.

The console room with 11th and 12th Doctors and Clara.

Daleks! AH!

Daleks! AH!

Like my sister knitting my dad and me matching Dr. Who scarves!

Aren't we too cute?

Aren’t we too cute?

I’ll give you a moment to be jealous…

All the fun leaves happy messes. Dirty dishes coated with fond memories. My life in complete disarray.

Living room

Living room

Family room

Family room

Everyone left yesterday. And today we are all back to normal life… or as close as we get to “normal”.

Here the last coffee cup has finally been washed, the extra beds have been put away, and my house has returned to everyday conditions.

Which makes me a little sad.

I love my family. I love it when we are all together. But now that everything has settled back into place. I need a moment to recover.

There were 14 people total in my house for Christmas. I love chatting and laughing and the general fun, but with all the cleaning and cooking and making sure everyone is comfortable and has clean towels… my head has been twisted into a knot.

As an introvert, I need alone time. As everyone would wander off to bed, I would stay up to claim my piece of quiet. Yesterday, I became a zombie and watched all the Christmas shows I hadn’t seen yet.

christmas-gif-tumblrcharlie-brown-christmas-gifs-ahxmtomi

Today… still recovering. I didn’t get out of bed until 9:30.

It’s not that I don’t ever want my entire family here, BECAUSE I DO! I just need a bit of time after the fun. To recover. That’s how I work.

Never be ashamed of how you work, of what you need to keep whatever bit of sanity you have. If you find something that works… go with it. We don’t need frazzled me running amok. Nope.

 

