Tags

, ,

I’m in training.

For…a marathon?

piratesrunningfor life

Nope.

A dangerous match of wizard’s chess?

HPwizards-chess-o

No…

To fight a dragon?

sleepingbeautydragonfight

WHY WOULD I FIGHT ONE I WANT ONE AS A PET!

To ride a unicorn?

lostgirlridingaunicorn

Well, yes, always, but that’s not quite what I’m talking about.

I am training to be the best me I can be. Because I find that I’m not always my best me. I have goals for me. Writing goals. Life goals. Me goals.

But these goals don’t magically happen, and me being able to achieve them is iffy.

SO I MUST TRAIN.

Little by little, I shall make choices to write, to finish another ms, to revise, to keep this writing career thing going.

Little by little, I will make healthier eating choices, to make myself stronger and more flexible.

Little by little, I will become the me I want to be.

However, I must tread carefully, because I have this perfect me in my head…an image of who I should be. Every time I fall short of that picture, I fall into a pit of failure and I give up.

But giving up is not an option, because this is life…you get one shot at it. I want to be happy. I want to like me. I want to be proud of me. None of this has to do with perfection. Perfection is boring…and impossible. Perfection doesn’t exist.

Being the best me means, facing each moment, each choice and training myself to make good decisions.

Training myself to take steps on the path that leads to the best me. Training myself to see what it is that will make me happy that day. Training myself to let go of all the things that hold me back.

Training myself to love me, my flaws included. To love the person I am and not the person I should be.

Sounds like a lot of work, perhaps I’ll go fight that dragon…

Just kidding…

It is work. Every day work. Every day until you die work. So I better get started.

jenlawperfection2

 

 

