Tags

, , , , , ,

The inner workings of a writer’s mind is a strange and wonfabutastic thing. The crazy thought processes. The characters that won’t stop talking. The way we interpret the world.

Every once in a while, I stop and wonder at the weirdness.

Alicemad

Every writers’ work process is different. Plotting or pantsing. Word count goals or merely hoping for one more word. Write early in the morning or late at night. A set schedule or tossing the plan out the window.

Yet, so many things tie us together. The way life can throw us off. The way the characters can draw us back in. The way we can get lost in the worlds we create.

I haven’t worked on Doors 3 for… a while. I mean who’s counting? Not me. There were distractions. The call of short stories, you know I can’t resist. Well, one was submitted and rejected. Oh well. I submitted another last weekend. Fingers crossed, kids. I also went through another short, but that one isn’t clicking, so I left myself some great notes (I’m sure I won’t be able to interpret later) and moved on.

Well, moved back. Back to Bryn and her adventures through the doors. Back to her friends Ith, Akk, Cal, and Creech. Back to a universe full of every world imaginable. I love it there. Going back always takes me a minute of reading what I wrote, thumbing through my mess of notes, of remembering. Yet, no matter how long I’ve been gone, the characters welcome me. They want their story told.

Isn’t that cool!?!?!?!! I set the story aside, but when I picked it back up, BAM!, I fall in love all over again. HOW DOES THAT WORK?!!?!?

Psychshawnwhat

Doors 3 crossed 10,000 words last night. I always feel pretty good when I hit that number. There’s so much left, but I can’t focus on how far I have to go, only the next scene, the next paragraph…sentence…word. That’s how books are built.

No more distractions. No more leaving to go write other things. I’ve had my short story fun and now I will finish Doors 3. How long? Who knows. I’m just going to keep chugging along. That’s what writers do. We all have different routines, different ways to write, different inspirations, but we all listen to the voices in our heads. No matter how frustrated, we love it and return to the words as often as we can. The words always welcome us back.

hphug

